Mbalo Brief – October 2019

The first Rugby World Cup (RWC) was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia in May and June 1987. A total of 16 countries competed in the inaugural tournament and seven out of 16 places were automatically filled by the International Rugby Football Board (IRFB) members made up of New Zealand, Australia, England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales and France. Invitations were sent to the other countries to fill the remaining nine places. Unfortunately, South Africa could not compete in the first two RWCs which took place in 1987 and 1991 because of the international sporting boycott due to apartheid. It was only in 1995 that South Africa was able to compete in a RWC tournament after the new democratic government was elected in 1994. Not only did South Africa host the 1995 RWC, it won the tournament by defeating New Zealand in the final, which is now remembered as one of he greatest moments in South Africa’s sporting history.

In this month’s issue of Mbalo Brief, our educational article is based on the key findings from the Governance, Public Safety and Justice Survey (GPSJS) 2018/19 (Statistical release P0340), which was published by Statistics South Africa (Stats SA) on 14 August 2019. Also have a look at our monthly crossword puzzle and solutions for the September 2019 puzzle.

Download Mbalo brief October 2019