The South Africa I know,

The Home I Understand

Results for: DTS

Postponement Notice: Delayed release of statistical publications

Postponement Notice: Delayed release of statistical publications   For immediate release                                                                                                 02 August 2021   Methodology changes due to COVID-19 result in delayed release of statistical publications Statistics South Africa (Stats SA)   read more »

Frame Update Project

Collection of contact details In March 2020, in the interest of respondent and staff safety, Statistics South Africa (Stats SA) took a decision to stop all face-to-face fieldwork operations, and collect data for household surveys telephonically. Regular surveys that have been affected by this decision were the Quarterly Labour Force Survey (QLFS), which gives us   read more »

Statistics South Africa to use telephonic data collection for Quarterly Labour Force Survey (Q2) 2020

Media Release                                                                                                       28 April 2020 Statistics South Africa to use telephonic data collection for Quarterly Labour Force Survey (Q2) 2020 The lockdown and progression of the pandemic resulted in the discontinuation of face-to-face data collection on 19 March 2020. Further to this, Statistics South Africa’s (Stats SA) Executive Committee took a decision to suspend   read more »

Three facts from the Census of Commercial Agriculture

Right now, if a natural disaster happened in Gauteng’s West Rand district, 31% of the nation’s carrot crop would be at risk. Stats SA’s latest set of reports on commercial agriculture show how certain agricultural activities are concentrated in a few, often relatively small, geographical areas. If we take a national view, the production of   read more »

Stats SA on a mission to cut costs, reduce turnaround time as it pilots digital data collection

Media Release                                                                                                             read more »

Media advisory: Statistician-General to release Domestic Tourism Survey results

Media advisory                                                                                                                                                                10 March 2017   Statistician-General to release Domestic Tourism Survey results   The Statistician-General of South Africa, Dr Pali Lehohla, will release the Domestic Tourism Survey, 2015 (DTS) results at a media briefing to be held on Thursday, 16 March 2017 in Pretoria. The DTS is a large-scale household survey   read more »

Public-sector infrastructure investment beckons hope in trying times

Public-sector infrastructure investment beckons hope in trying times

In an environment of low real economic growth, South African public-sector institutions continued to plough an increasing amount of capital expenditure into the economy in the financial year 2013/14. This is evident from the latest capital expenditure survey, which indicates that total capital expenditure by the public sector rose from R224,8 billion in 2012/13 to   read more »

A rumour wobbles an industry

A rumour wobbles an industry

Misinformation and hearsay have the power to influence an economy. Thousands of civil servants resigned from their posts in 2014 and early 2015 in response to rumours about proposed pension reforms. The economic effect was large enough to be seen in recent gross domestic product (GDP) data released by Stats SA. The government services sector   read more »

Eastern Cape 231 Aberdeen 223 Adelaide 221 Albany 201 Albert 222 Alexandria 202 Aliwal North 207 Barkly-East 224 Bathurst 225 Bedford 250 Bizana 251 Butterworth 274 Cala 212 Cathcart 268 Cofimvaba 229 Cradock 219 East London 208 Elliot 252 Elliotdale 253 Engcobo 254 Flagstaff 226 Fort Beaufort 232 Graaff-Reinet 237 Hankey 244 Hewu 206 Hofmeyer   read more »

Municipality code list

Code Municipality Demarcation Board code Name Metros 71 Cape Town City of Cape Town 72 Durban Ethekwini 73 East Rand Ekurhuleni Metro 74 Johannesburg City of Johannesburg Metro 75 Port Elizabeth Nelson Mandela 76 Pretoria City of Tshwane Metro Cross-border municipalities 81 CBLC1 Ga-Segonyana 82 CBLC2 Kungwini 83 CBLC3 Greater Marble Hall 84 CBLC4 Greater   read more »

P0352.1 - Domestic tourism survey (DTS)

The main objectives of the DTS survey are to: Collect accurate statistics on the travel behaviour and expenditure of South African residents travelling within and outside the borders of South Africa. Determine the contribution of tourism to the South African economy. Provide information for planning, marketing, policy formulation and regulation of tourism-related activities: read more »

P0352.2 - Domestic Tourism Survey Bi-annual report

Domestic Tourism Survey Bi-annual report for 2013/14read more »


Kannaland Local Municipality is classified as a category B municipality. It is responsible for basic service provision to the towns of Calitzdorp, Ladismith, Van Wyksdorp, Zoar, as well as the surrounding farming communities. Kannaland is situated about 340km north east of Cape Town, along the famous tourism Route 62. It is linked by tarred main roads to all other major centres such as Oudtshoorn (100km), Montagu (139km), George (160km), Mossel Bay (185km) and Port Elizabeth (420km). Both the administrative and legislative seats of Kannaland Local Municipality are located in Ladismith, with satellite offices in Calitzdorp, Van Wyksdorp and Zoar. (

read more »


George Local Municipality forms part of the Eden District Municipality and is situated in the middle of Knysna, Oudtshoorn, Mossel Bay and Hessequa Local Municipalities. The municipality is classified as a category B municipality, and is inter alia responsible for basic service delivery. George is located along the N2 highway. Its strategic location along the N2 highway to Cape Town and the Eastern Cape facilitates mobility of people, goods and services (

read more »


Oudtshoorn Local Municipality lies within the boundaries of the Eden District Municipality in the Western Cape Province. Since 5 December 2000, the Oudtshoorn municipal area includes the larger settlements of Oudtshoorn, Dysselsdorp, and De Rust, and the smaller rural settlements of Volmoed, Schoemanshoek, Spieskamp, Vlakteplaas, Grootkraal, De Hoop, and Matjiesrivier.

The Greater Oudtshoorn area is nestled at the foot of the Swartberg mountains in the heart of the Little Karoo region of the Western Cape.

Source: (

read more »

No statistics by theme results found.

Perhaps you should try again with a different search term.